www.starbreezeforum.se

Starbreeze Official Forum

You are not logged in.

#1 2012-02-21 12:33:53

kylebisme
Neophyte
Registered: 2012-02-21
Posts: 9

PC Tweaks?

I've played a few hours so far and am enjoying the game, but there are a few things I'm hopping can be changed through console commands or the like.  First off there is a glare effect on the sides of the screen when near bright light sources that I would really prefer to do without.  Also, if there is a way to turn down the bloom and turn up the FOV, I'd really like to know how to do both.

Offline

 

#2 2012-02-21 13:55:42

Scree
Novice
From: Baku
Registered: 2012-02-01
Posts: 12

Re: PC Tweaks?

I've turned off DoF and motion blur (why we need this on PC anyway?), but can't find where i can disable awful bloom effect. Game looks good, but this bloom ruins all. Please help me with this issue.

Last edited by Scree (2012-02-21 13:57:34)


Civilization is Only Skin Deep...

Offline

 

#3 2012-02-22 07:55:47

Kyodan
Neophyte
Registered: 2012-02-14
Posts: 2

Re: PC Tweaks?

I found the following commands through the console, but I currently don't have the chance to test them out yet:

xr_ppdof
xr_ppglowbias
xr_ppglowgamma
xr_ppglowscale
xr_ppglowthreshold
xr_viewscale

PP = post process, and I threw in "xr_viewscale" in case it has anything to do with FOV.

Offline

 

#4 2012-02-22 18:59:56

Talantir
Novice
Registered: 2012-01-31
Posts: 11

Re: PC Tweaks?

does the game(pc version) has fps lock?just interesting) get my preorder only in friday)cant wait

Offline

 

#5 2012-02-22 19:15:15

Scree
Novice
From: Baku
Registered: 2012-02-01
Posts: 12

Re: PC Tweaks?

Talantir, no, there is no fps lock. Game runs very smoothly.


Civilization is Only Skin Deep...

Offline

 

#6 2012-02-22 20:43:54

Falmar
Neophyte
Registered: 2012-02-22
Posts: 6

Re: PC Tweaks?

Well I've been messing with the My Documents/Syndicate/enviroment.cfg file, so far I havent got any luck with the FoV. It seems that it only lets you change some aspects while ignoring others. I could turn off motion blur but couldnt skip the intro lol.

Offline

 

#7 2012-02-22 21:53:59

kylebisme
Neophyte
Registered: 2012-02-21
Posts: 9

Re: PC Tweaks?

Kyodan wrote:

I threw in "xr_viewscale" in case it has anything to do with FOV.

That one actually changes the internal rendering resolution. So for example sake, at 1080p "xr_viewscale 0.5, 0.5" will render the game at 960x540. I tried a couple of others settings with no luck, and no notable effect for the most.  Granted, I'm just fumbling mostly blind aside from a little help the AoDA console to check the number of parameters for settings which are also available in that.

Anyway, I uploaded a screenshot to exemplify the "glare effect on the sides of the screen when near bright light sources" which I mentioned previously:

http://img36.imageshack.us/img36/1113/66103981.jpg


And the same frame from the Announce Trailer to exemplify the fact that the glare effect isn't present in it, nor is the excessive bloom:

http://img828.imageshack.us/img828/8457/traileray.jpg


If a developer could explain how to disable that glare effect and turn down the bloom, I'm sure I'm far from the only one who would be happy to know.

Last edited by kylebisme (2012-02-23 00:30:00)

Offline

 

#8 2012-02-23 01:01:46

pigsbywu
Neophyte
Registered: 2012-02-23
Posts: 1

Re: PC Tweaks?

kylebisme wrote:

I've played a few hours so far and am enjoying the game, but there are a few things I'm hopping can be changed through console commands or the like.  First off there is a glare effect on the sides of the screen when near bright light sources that I would really prefer to do without.  Also, if there is a way to turn down the bloom and turn up the FOV, I'd really like to know how to do both.

Have to agree - the bloom and glare is really, really, very, very disctracting, and at times prevents you from seeing what is on the screen - not good when you are getting shot at. If you cannot/will not reduce the bloom & glare, please at least provide the ability to turn it off - it DOES ruin enjoyment of the game. And being able to change FOV would be really nice too.

Offline

 

#9 2012-02-23 18:04:23

carbonic
Novice
Registered: 2012-02-23
Posts: 11

Re: PC Tweaks?

Agree with the above mentioned. You should think the chip would help with visual enhancement and not make the eyes 10 times slower to adjust to lightchanges...

Offline

 

#10 2012-02-23 18:13:06

Rukumouru
Expert
Registered: 2012-02-23
Posts: 119

Re: PC Tweaks?

FOV changing method is an absolute need.

Offline

 

#11 2012-02-23 23:00:37

kylebisme
Neophyte
Registered: 2012-02-21
Posts: 9

Re: PC Tweaks?

A response from a developer would be great. Even a "sorry, there's no way for end-users to make such adjustments" would be better than nothing.

Last edited by kylebisme (2012-02-23 23:00:57)

Offline

 

#12 2012-02-27 22:43:38

Maxunit
Neophyte
Registered: 2012-02-26
Posts: 8

Re: PC Tweaks?

I'm not sure, but I think I got the bloom/glare extreme-ness fixed with using the console, but maybe I am wrong as well.

Can anyone confirm, that the first Coop mission (below Random) has not much bloom/glare? If it has a lot of bloom/glare at some spots, then I managed to fix the bloom/glare.

Offline

 

#13 2012-02-28 09:30:23

obliviondoll
Grand Master
Registered: 2011-12-10
Posts: 332

Re: PC Tweaks?

Co-op in general has a LOT less bloom and glare than the single player campaign.

Sorry, but don't think you fixed it.


----V^^^V----
I want my meals to think for myself.

Offline

 

#14 2012-02-28 10:10:05

KillerSneak
Novice
Registered: 2012-02-27
Posts: 19

Re: PC Tweaks?

Kyodan wrote:

I found the following commands through the console, but I currently don't have the chance to test them out yet:

xr_ppdof
xr_ppglowbias
xr_ppglowgamma
xr_ppglowscale
xr_ppglowthreshold
xr_viewscale

PP = post process, and I threw in "xr_viewscale" in case it has anything to do with FOV.

These commands don't work at all. (none of them). I have been testing out almost all known commands


kylebisme wrote:

Kyodan wrote:

I threw in "xr_viewscale" in case it has anything to do with FOV.

That one actually changes the internal rendering resolution. So for example sake, at 1080p "xr_viewscale 0.5, 0.5" will render the game at 960x540. I tried a couple of others settings with no luck, and no notable effect for the most.  Granted, I'm just fumbling mostly blind aside from a little help the AoDA console to check the number of parameters for settings which are also available in that.

Anyway, I uploaded a screenshot to exemplify the "glare effect on the sides of the screen when near bright light sources" which I mentioned previously:

http://img36.imageshack.us/img36/1113/66103981.jpg


And the same frame from the Announce Trailer to exemplify the fact that the glare effect isn't present in it, nor is the excessive bloom:

http://img828.imageshack.us/img828/8457/traileray.jpg


If a developer could explain how to disable that glare effect and turn down the bloom, I'm sure I'm far from the only one who would be happy to know.

XR_LOD=-1 // XR_LOD -1
XR_LODOFFSET=-1 // XR_LODOFFSET -1
XR_LODSCALE=-1 // XR_LODSCALE -1
XR_FLARES=0 // XR_FLARES 0
XR_ZFOG=0 // XR_ZFOG 0
XR_EFFECTMODELS=0 // XR_EFFECTMODELS 0

And it will look like the trailer. It will have some issues like the screen darkening when running.

I'm working on a CFG maker for Syndicate (http://donotargue.com/note/syndicate-cf … d-quality/) but the above commands can be entered from the console to enable them. Still working on getting console commands to load from the CFG file (doesn't seem to be loading settings added other than the default ones)

Last edited by KillerSneak (2012-02-28 10:11:28)

Offline

 

#15 2012-02-28 10:49:16

PsyEd
Novice
Registered: 2012-02-23
Posts: 12

Re: PC Tweaks?

^ dude thanks but that totally F'ed up my game now on when I followed the link guide. What are the default values...I want to put everything back to as they were....


edit: I fixed it...thank god.

Last edited by PsyEd (2012-02-28 10:54:43)

Offline

 

#16 2012-02-28 11:27:43

kylebisme
Neophyte
Registered: 2012-02-21
Posts: 9

Re: PC Tweaks?

Did most everything go black on you PsyEd? That happenes to me too when I try to put xr_ssao to anything but 0.  Anyway, I tried the other settings and saw changes, but none that got rid of that awful glare effect as seen on the right edge of the screenshot I posted.

Offline

 

#17 2012-02-28 11:44:22

KillerSneak
Novice
Registered: 2012-02-27
Posts: 19

Re: PC Tweaks?

PsyEd wrote:

^ dude thanks but that totally F'ed up my game now on when I followed the link guide. What are the default values...I want to put everything back to as they were....


edit: I fixed it...thank god.

Would be usefull to post what settings you used and maybe some screenshots? Just a  F'ed up" isn't informative at all


kylebisme wrote:

Did most everything go black on you PsyEd? That happenes to me too when I try to put xr_ssao to anything but 0.  Anyway, I tried the other settings and saw changes, but none that got rid of that awful glare effect as seen on the right edge of the screenshot I posted..

xr_ssao 2
xr_ssaogain 0.5 <- be sure to set it at 0.5 putting this on 1 will make the ssao to obvious and will indeed make everything have thick black lines.

I'm looking into the glare at the moment. I have to restart my whole game again as I had a Syndicate.bin error and all my savegames are lost. This is the 2nd time this happened.

Offline

 

#18 2012-02-28 14:34:55

KillerSneak
Novice
Registered: 2012-02-27
Posts: 19

Re: PC Tweaks?

Update:

XR_dfrtargetratio 1 will get rid of most of the orange glare on the scientist above. Ill keep this topic updated if I find out more.

Offline

 

#19 2012-02-28 19:48:47

kylebisme
Neophyte
Registered: 2012-02-21
Posts: 9

Re: PC Tweaks?

http://img831.imageshack.us/img831/7983/syndicate20120228133750.jpg

That's what I get with xr_sssao 2, regardless of what xr_ssaogain is. xr_dfrtargetratio 1 does tone down the bloom nicely, but I'm still crossing my fingers for a way to get rid of that awful glare effect on that shows up on the sides of the screen when near bight light sources.

Offline

 

#20 2012-02-28 20:08:44

KillerSneak
Novice
Registered: 2012-02-27
Posts: 19

Re: PC Tweaks?

That seems to be related to the shadowmap(ping) try:

XR_SSAO 1
XR_SSAOGAIN 0.5
XR_SHADOWMAPMODE 2 (shadowmaps for characters and props/environment)
XR_SMM_LIGHTFIELDBLOCK 0.5 (how strong/black should the shadows be)
XR_SOFTSENCIL 1
XR_SELFSHADOW 1 -> shadows charcaters/props etc
multithread 1 (big FPS boost!)
XR_DFRTARGETRATIO 1

let me know how this works

also to have the highest detail possible add

XR_LOD 1
XR_LODOFFSET -1
XR_LODSCALE -1 -> render everything @ highest LOD all the time.

These are just some settings from my personal config till I get everything figured out.

EDIT:
I have played with all settings for quite some days now and I haven't found anything to get rid of the glare effects along side the screen.

Last edited by KillerSneak (2012-02-28 20:09:46)

Offline

 

#21 2012-02-28 21:37:09

PsyEd
Novice
Registered: 2012-02-23
Posts: 12

Re: PC Tweaks?

KillerSneak wrote:

PsyEd wrote:

^ dude thanks but that totally F'ed up my game now on when I followed the link guide. What are the default values...I want to put everything back to as they were....


edit: I fixed it...thank god.

Would be usefull to post what settings you used and maybe some screenshots? Just a  F'ed up" isn't informative at all.

Err yeah as I said it was the LINK guide which is http://donotargue.com/note/syndicate-cf … d-quality/


And kylebisme yes everything went very dark...you can still see but I don't want another doom 3. My card is gtx590 with latest whql driver.

Offline

 

#22 2012-02-28 22:39:49

kylebisme
Neophyte
Registered: 2012-02-21
Posts: 9

Re: PC Tweaks?

KillerSneak wrote:

That seems to be related to the shadowmap(ping) try:

Do you know how to find the default and/or current values for all these settings?  I'd like to get SSAO working, but don't want to mess up anything I cant easily set right again, and I feel like I've been pushing my luck in blindly fumbling with the commands you suggest.

Offline

 

#23 2012-02-28 22:44:56

KillerSneak
Novice
Registered: 2012-02-27
Posts: 19

Re: PC Tweaks?

kylebisme wrote:

KillerSneak wrote:

That seems to be related to the shadowmap(ping) try:

Do you know how to find the default and/or current values for all these settings?  I'd like to get SSAO working, but don't want to mess up anything I cant easily set right again, and I feel like I've been pushing my luck in blindly fumbling with the commands you suggest.

I'm sorry to say that I haven't been able to find any of the default settings for settings that aren't in the CFG file. The console only gives the CVARS not the default values it set to (would have made things much easier)

Offline

 

#24 2012-02-29 00:52:25

KillerSneak
Novice
Registered: 2012-02-27
Posts: 19

Re: PC Tweaks?

PsyEd wrote:

KillerSneak wrote:

PsyEd wrote:

^ dude thanks but that totally F'ed up my game now on when I followed the link guide. What are the default values...I want to put everything back to as they were....


edit: I fixed it...thank god.

Would be usefull to post what settings you used and maybe some screenshots? Just a  F'ed up" isn't informative at all.

Err yeah as I said it was the LINK guide which is http://donotargue.com/note/syndicate-cf … d-quality/


And kylebisme yes everything went very dark...you can still see but I don't want another doom 3. My card is gtx590 with latest whql driver.

This isn't a guide just some settings as I didn't see anything about it on the "I-net" I'm still working out the CFG maker that will let you configure your CFG online like:
http://donotargue.com/cfg-makers/skyrim/
http://donotargue.com/cfg-makers/star-w … -republic/
http://donotargue.com/cfg-makers/rage/

I hope to do the same for Syndicate

as for the SSAO issue are you sure you aren't forcing/setting any SSAO settings in your nVidia control panel by any chance?

Offline

 

#25 2012-02-29 01:23:51

PsyEd
Novice
Registered: 2012-02-23
Posts: 12

Re: PC Tweaks?

Cool I'll wait for the release then. I don't have anything forced apat from vsync in the nvidia cp...disabling vsync in-game fixes the sensitive mouse issues.

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by PunBB
© Copyright 2002–2008 PunBB